I’m creating the music to make global mutual cover songs the norm among music artists from 2024.

Nobuya Kobori 小堀暢也
2 min readJun 14, 2024

--

Hi, I’m Nobuya Kobori from Japan.

Let me disclose what I’m trying to do from 2024.

– – – – – – – – –

I dream that we artists present cover songs to each other, without limiting countries or genres.

What we are trying to do is enlighten each other about mutual cover songs more globally.

We artists can find out the artists, for example, by searching Spotify or YouTube for artists from countries other than your own native language.

If you want to distribute the song by an artist who has outsourced song management to a copyright organisation, you can apply for a licence before releasing it as a cover song.

If we as artists want to release songs by artists who have not outsourced their song management to a copyright management organisation, it is best to obtain permission to release cover songs online directly from the artists themselves, for example by using a translation facility.

Many mutual cover songs need to be produced and released without bias.

It is not good in the mindset to release only cover songs of successful artists or artists you admire.

If you only make cover songs but do not release your own original songs, a mutual cover song will not be established.

When you release someone else’s cover song, you need to let them know that you are aiming for a mutual cover song.

I think mutual cover songs are an opportunity to show mutual respect.

The way you return a cover song with a cover song proves that you respect the other artist.

I think if we can release of cover songs by artists who have passed away or retired from music, but not as mutual cover songs. (It may be possible to use generative AI to simulate…)

If we musicians only focus on what we like, what we can see and what we can understand, then naturally our horizons will not expand beyond what we like, what we can see and what we can understand.

I will first let my own music career progress so that mutual cover songs become the normalization of globally in the near future.

I’m going to release so many kinds of music on the lifetime, not as one musician, but as one human being.

(Although that said, it is just more difficult than I thought to express my feelings to others, especially in Japan, and I am sorry that I have delayed it by six months longer than I had originally envisaged.

I hope you will pay attention to my cover songs and original songs for the time being, starting next month in July.)

II think if grovel mutual cover songs become a common practice for us music artists to live by, more and more people will be helped.

Thank you for your kindness.

Nobuya Kobori

June 15, 2024

--

--